lifestyle

Travel: Krakow & Berlin

On the 2nd April at 3:00am I woke up to make sure I had got everything I needed for my 8 day trip to Krakow and Berlin.

Whilst in my last year at university I chose a module entitled: Literature & Evil. Sounds a bit morbid, I know, but it has been my favourite module and offered the chance to go on a brilliant culture and history filled trip.

Whilst in Krakow we visited the Galicia Museum, the Schindler Factory Museumย and Auschwitz-Birkenau. Each of these provided experiences I will never forget. Deeply poignant and staggering, I find it hard to describe the way these places made me feel.

Krakow is a beautiful city, full of vibrance and charm. Also, it’s so cheap, obviously an essential for students! I bought some gorgeous sterling silver rings in the old town market and enjoyed a couple of drinks inย Alchemia‘s cool setting. Both a must if visiting Krakow.

IMG_0021
Krakow’s main market square

Lastly, we managed to visit the Wieliczka Salt Mineย which hosts incredible structures (you guessed it, all made of salt!) and portrays the history and culture of Poland where salt mining was of great importance for several hundreds of years.

Wieliczka_salt_mine
Inside the Salt Mine’s chapel – you can get married here!

The next thing on the agenda was to travel, in a coach, for 9 hours to Berlin, Germany. We stayed at a super cool hostel and managed to get a good night’s sleep before we headed out to see the Stasi Museum and took a trip to Wannsee.

We also managed to see the Reichstag building, had a wander around Berlin’s Natural History Museum and had some REALLY good Indian food.

IMG_0244IMG_0245

Both Krakow and Berlin were amazing experiences and I’m glad I got to see a smidgen more of Europe along with a massive group of great people.

Should I have visited somewhere that I missed? Who knows, your suggestions might make me want to go back!

Leave a Reply

